Food · Recipes

Lemon Yoghurt Cake with Lime Syrup

My brother and sister in law are in Sydney briefly, I didn’t expect to actually see them during their quick stay here but then they sent me a message last night to see if we were busy….well it WAS a Saturday night after all…..let me check my calendar…

..oh wait, I’m now living in the country , my friends live far far away and I have a toddler….what social life…hhmmm…

IMG-20160625-WA0010_resized
looks a little naked

 

I didn’t want to have to put too much time and effort into cooking last night and I didn’t want to have to duck out to the shops either to get ingredients. After a quick look through the fridge and the pantry, it was decided that I was going to make a lemon yoghurt cake for our post dinner treat. Simple, tasty and I could have the leftovers for morning tea 🙂 🙂

lemonyoghurt1

I have never made a cake with yoghurt before but I do know that adding yoghurt to cakes makes them moist (giggle)…oh wait…I lie.. I’ve made muffins with yoghurt before…ok scrap that…

Moving right along then…

This cake was perfect! It was zesty, tasty and….moist (giggle). Enjoy a slice with some cream or ice cream as a dessert or morning tea. YUMMY! This is a cake to enjoy if you like the tangy taste of lemon and lime. However, if you prefer a subtle citrus taste, cut back on the lemon juice and zest or even omit the lime syrup altogether.

The recipe is not mine, it’s actually from Taste.com.au but I made some minor adjustments to it. I decreased the sugar a little in the cake mix and increased the amount of lime syrup. I found that the original did not have enough but perhaps it was because I boiled the sugar syrup a bit longer to make a more thicker consistency. I didn’t poke holes all the way through the cake because I wanted the syrup to be mainly at the top layer of the cake but each to their own.

IMG_0752

I always prefer to weigh dry ingredients when baking. It gives you a more precise amount than relying on cups.  Like, do you squish the flour in the cup? or do you just lightly tap the sides to get a full cup – see? this can vary the weight pretty easily.

IMG_0751

The end result did not disappoint and I didn’t make too much of a mess either. I recommend having it with either ice cream or double cream or yoghurt or creme fraiche to cut through the zing.

If you like only a bit of zing. You can omit the syrup all together to!

Enjoy!

Marlene

xx

Lemon Yoghurt Cake

CAKE

  • 3 eggs at room temperature
  • 200 grams of caster sugar
  • lemon juice from 2 lemons
  • finely grated zest from the 1 or 2 lemons
  • 300g sifted raising flour
  • 280g plain greek yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

LIME SYRUP

  • 1 or 2 limes, juiced – to make 1/3 cup. if not enough top up with water
  • lime zest peeled in strips from 2 limes
  • 1 and 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup of water

 

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Grease and line an 8inch baking tin with baking paper;
  2. To make the cake – whisk the eggs and sugar with an electric beater for a few minutes – until it is a creamy pale colour. Add the lemon juice and zest and continue to mix with the beaters for another minute or so. I used a stand mixer and I let it go for about 2 – 3 minutes.
  3. Using a wooden spoon or spatula, stir in the yoghurt, oil and sifted flour until the batter is combined.
  4. Pour the cake batter in the greased tin and bake in the middle part of the oven for about 45 minutes or until cooked through. You can check by using a wooden skewer, poke it in the middle. If the skewer comes out clean, your cake is cooked. Leave the cake in the pan, poke lots of holes in the cake using the skewer and set the cake aside.
  5. To make the syrup – boil the zest in some water for about 1 minute. Drain and set the zest aside
  6. Using the same saucepan, place the sugar, lime juice and water and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Keep it simmering on low heat until it thickens slightly. * keep an eye on this, mine bubbled. Stir every now and then if required *
  7. Add the zest and boil simmer for another minute. Before it becomes too much like a proper toffee, pour the syrup on top of the cake and leave it to cool in the baking tin.
  8. Can be served warm. Have a slice with some yoghurt or double cream or creme fraiche,

 

IMG_0749

 

5 thoughts on “Lemon Yoghurt Cake with Lime Syrup

Leave a Reply

