Food · General · Recipes

Bacon Jam

Matt and I went to a cafe on Beaumont Street the other day to have breakfast and this was the first time I encountered this beautiful thing called Bacon Jam.

Bacon Jam….bacon jam. Why have I NOT ever had this before?!?!?!?!

I googled and it’s been a thing for ages and again I asked myself, why have I not had this before?!?!?!?!?!

I am of the view that more places should have bacon jam….but not too much….I hate good things getting ruined by overdoing it. For example, freak shakes – it went from being amazing to WTF within a matter of weeks.

Anyway, back to my current love.

After we left the cafe, I had bacon jam on the tip of my tongue and mind. I thought about it to the point of obsession. I find that I get like this when I taste or crave certain foods. I think about it, talk about it, dream about it and NEED to make it (if I can). So you know what I did? I made bacon jam. Yup, it happened.

Bacon Jam goes with pretty much anything. I mixed a little with some plain pasta for  Juliet today, she loved it – ahhh definitely our child. It also goes well with bread, eggs, mushrooms, asparagus and rice. After I had finished making today’s batch, I grabbed some rice and chucked it in the frying pan to soak up the juices – Matt and I stood there with spoons in our hands eating the bacon jam rice. It was so good….

….bacon…mmmmmm…..bacon……

*ahem*

After a few clicks, I was happy to know that I am not alone in obsessing about bacon jam. One blogger I really admire also spoke about how she kept thinking about bacon jam after she tasted it.

I found this recipe by The Endless Meal and used that as my starting point and made some adjustments.

I don’t fully understand the role of the coffee but I am guessing that it gives a some kind of smokey flavour and enhances the sweetness. I don’t actually know, I am just guessing. If anyone can confirm or deny this, I would appreciate it.

Although the recipe calls for the bacon to be diced and chopped, it is better to use bacon rashers instead of the pre diced bacon because you need a bit of the rendered fat to make this.

The jam I made today was from 1 large red onion and 1 large brown onion – only because I forgot to buy red onions and I only had these ones on hand. I don’t see a problem with using brown onions since the sugar and maple syrup will make it all sticky and sweet anyway.

When you’re done, keep in an airtight container and store in the fridge. This should last a week (7 days), that’s if you’re not tempted to add it to every single thing you eat. Tonight we used it for our Cheeseburgers – mmmmm, it was so good – homemade beef patties, fresh tomato, colby cheese and bacon jam in a warm brioche bun – so good.

The only main problem I had with this was trying to restrain myself from picking at the fried bacon, otherwise, pretty easy recipe. I wish I took a proper photo but I was a tad busy today. Will try to take a snapshot tomorrow instead.

Maple Bacon Jam

  • 500g bacon rashers – diced in teeny pieces
  • 2 lge red onions – diced in small pieces
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup strong coffee
  • 3/4 cup water
  1. In a large frying pan, fry up the diced bacon in low/medium heat. No need for oil especially if you are using a non stick frying pan.
  2. Cook the bacon until it is almost to that crispy phase.
  3. Scoop up the bacon using a slotted spoon and set aside. Best to drain it on a mesh strainer over a clean bowl. Reserve the rendered fat.
  4. Using the same frying pan, heat up about 1 tablespoon of the rendered fat and cook the onions on low heat until the onion is translucent. This process can take approximately 10 – 15minutes. Stir occasionally to prevent sticking and take care not to burn the onions.
  5. Add the sugar, stir and cook until the onion caramelises – will take about 15 minutes. Stir occasionally.
  6. Add the coffee, water, maple syrup and bacon. Stir and cook on low/med heat for about 30 minutes.
  7. Keep in a clean sanitised container in the fridge and consume within 7 days.

**Personally, I prefer to warm it up before consuming it.**

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bacon Jam

Leave a Reply

